Forum of MERCOSUR Municipalities, Provinces and Departments (FCCR)

The FCCR is the consultative body of MERCOSUR whose purpose is to stimulate dialogue and cooperation between municipal, state, provincial, and departmental authorities of States Parties.

It was created in December 2004 during the 27th Meeting of the Common Market Council (Decision No. 41/04), held in the city of Belo Horizonte, and it was formally established on 18 January 2007, on the occasion of the 32nd Summit of MERCOSUR Heads of State, held in Rio de Janeiro.

Comprised of a Municipalities Committee and a Federated States, Provinces and Departments Committee, the FCCR has the following key duties: to propose measures aimed at coordinating policies to foster well-being and enhance the quality of life of the inhabitants of their territories, as well as to make recommendations through the Common Market Group.

The FCCR promotes and provides guidance to subnational governments for the signing of agreements, technical studies, and initiatives aimed at regional integration and citizenship.

As a mechanism for coordination and dialogue for participating entities among themselves and with national governments, the Forum is the framework to institutionalize participation and integrate regions and subnational government entities as effective actors in public policies.

Founding documents

Rio Charter  

FCCR Regulations (Spanish)
Description: Internal regulations of the Consultative Forum of MERCOSUR Municipalities, Federated States, Provinces, and Departments, approved by Resolution GMC No. 26/07 in Montevideo, Uruguay, on 27 September 2007.

FCCR Regulations (Portuguese)
Description: Regulamento Interno do Foro Consultivo de Municípios, Estados Federados, Províncias e Departamentos do MERCOSUL, aprovado por resolução GMC Nº 26/07 en Montevidéu, Uruguai o 27 de setembro de 2007.


Argentine section

Coordinator: Minister Martín García Moritan
Undersecretariat for Institutional Relations
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Worship
Telephone number: (54 11) 4819 7677

Alternate Coordinator:
General Director of Institutional Relations
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Worship

Paraguayan section

Coordinator: Ambassador Enrique Ramirez Villalba

Uruguayan section

Coordinator: Artigas Barrios
President of the Conference of Mayors
Mayor of Rocha

Alternate Coordinator: Marne Osorio
First Vice President of the Conference of Mayors
Mayor of Rivera

Brazilian section

Coordinator: Gilmar Dominici
Deputy Director of Federal Affairs
E-mail: /

Alternate Coordinator: Vicente Pla y Trevas
Secretary for International and Federal Relations - Sao Paulo

Venezuelan section

Coordinator: Francisco Rangel Gómez
National Coordinator to FCCR
Governor of the State of Bolivar

Alternate Coordinator: Ricardo José Aquino
Vice Minister of International Tourism

 For additional information, please visit: