Home / Announcements / News

International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea 2023-2032: Prof. Frida M. Armas Pfirter’s nomination

Monday, 11 April 2022


The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) is an international judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). The Tribunal has jurisdiction over all disputes concerning the interpretation or application of the Convention and all matters specifically provided for in any other agreement conferring jurisdiction on the Tribunal. Disputes concerning the Convention may refer to the delimitation of maritime areas, navigation, conservation and management of living resources, protection and preservation of the marine environment and marine scientific research.

The Tribunal is composed of 21 judges elected by States Parties to the Convention. The seat of the Tribunal is in Hamburg (Germany). The members are elected for a term of nine years and may be re-elected, from among persons enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognized competence in the field of the law of the sea.

Argentina is honored to nominate Prof. Frida M. Armas Pfirter for the next election which will take place in the Meeting of States Parties to UNCLOS in June 2023, in the United Nations, New York.


Video of the nomination of the Argentine candidate


Spanish English French

Curriculum Vitae

Spanish English French