Home / Announcements / News

Lima Group Statement

Thursday, 29 August 2019
Information for the Press N°: 

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Paraguay and Peru, members of the Lima Group, support the decision of Venezuela's Interim President, Juan Guaidó, to appoint Julio Borges as Presidential Commissioner for Foreign Affairs. They consider that this decision will result in increased favourable international support for the end of usurpation and the beginning of a peaceful transition towards democracy in Venezuela.

They also acknowledge the work that Julio Borges, as a Venezuelan democrat, has been carrying out towards the restoration of democracy in Venezuela.

They also ratify their support for the decisions of Interim President Juan Guaidó and the National Assembly in the search for a solution to the severe economic, political and social crisis affecting Venezuela, and they renew their commitment to supporting Venezuelans in the restoration of democracy and the full force of the fundamental freedoms and guarantees in the sister nation.